Canadian swimmers shine at the Olympic Selection Trials

Canadians stars demonstrated their stupendous efforts on the first day of the Canadian Olympic & Paralympic Trials in Montreal as they look forward to confirm their spot in the national team to the 2012 London Olympic Games.

The session included playoffs of 400m Individual Medley (IM), 400m freestyle, 100m breaststroke, 100m butterfly and 200m freestyle in Men and Women’s corner.

Firstly, Alec Page served notice of his talent in the Men’s 400m IM as he conquered gold medal of the discipline by posting a time of 4 minutes and 17.78 seconds. He was followed by Andrew Ford and Steven Bielby, who ended second and third by clocking 4:23.22
and 4:23.66 minutes, respectively.

Next was the Women’s 400m freestyle, where Brittany MacLean earned gold medal of the discipline by posting a time of 4 minutes and 06.08 seconds. She was trailed by Savannah King, who ended second with an effort of 4 minutes and 07.02 seconds while Alexa
Komarnycky snared bronze medal by producing 4 minutes and 08.67 seconds.

After that, Scott Dickens seized gold medal of the Men’s 100m breaststroke by touching the wall with the timing of 1 minute and 00.43 seconds. He was trailed by Richard Funk and Jason Block, who ended their swims with timings of 1:01.27 and 1:01.54 seconds.

Moments later, Katerine Savard clinched gold medal of the Women’s 100m butterfly as she tapped the wall with the timing of 58.45 seconds. Her effort remained marginally ahead of MacKenzie Downing, who claimed silver medal with the timing of 58.86 seconds.
She was chased by Caroline Kuczynski, who concluded her swim in third place with the timing of 59.66 seconds.

Finally, Blake Worsley proved his eligibility for the crown of Men’s 200m freestyle as he ended his race in a time of 1 minute and 49.06 seconds. His fantastic effort remained slightly ahead of Chad Bobrosky, who occupied second position of the event with
the timing of 1 minute and 49.33 seconds. Hassaan Abdel-Khalik claimed bronze medal of the event as he tapped the wall with the timing of 1 minute and 49.59 seconds.

The championship will continue for five more days whereas the top two finishers of every event will be selected in Canadian team to London.