Kings XI Punjab registered their first win of this season’s IPL after defeating the in-form Sahara Pune Warriors by seven wickets. Both sides met on Thursday, April 12, at the PCA Stadium with the home side emerging as comfortable winners.

Punjab won the toss and chose to field first restricting the Warriors to 115 in 19 overs. Mithun Manhas top scored with 31 off 28 balls which included three fours and one six. Other than Manhas, no other player were able to make a notable contribution as
the whole team were bundled out for 115.

Dimitri Mascarenhas picked up five wickets while Harmeet Singh bagged two. One wicket was picked up by Piyush Chawla.

In reply, Punjab got off to a worst possible start after Paul Valthaty was cleaned up by Ashok Dinda on the very first ball of their innings. Adam Gilchrist and Shaun Marsh took the score to 50 in 7.5 overs before the former Australian wicket keeper was
caught by Steven Smith off Angelo Mathews for 21 off 17 balls.

Mandeep Singh added 20 runs for the third wicket with Marsh before getting caught off Rahul Sharma at the hands of Smith. He made 10 from as many balls. Chawla and Marsh then ensured that no more wickets fell as the duo chased the score down in 17.4 overs
with Marsh staying unbeaten on 64 and Chawla on 21.

Dinda, Sharma and Mathews picked up one wicket each. Mascarenhas was given the Man of the Match award.

Warriors will now be up against the Chennai Super Kings on Saturday, April 14, while Punjab will take on the Kolkata Knight Riders in their next game on Sunday, April 15.