In quite an expected move, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has appointed Mohammad Hafeez as the new captain of the national Twenty20 team, retaining Misbah-ul-Haq as the skipper for tests and 50-overs games.

PCB Chairman Zaka Ahsraf announced the decision at a press conference in Lahore, saying that he will not tolerate any violation of discipline. He observed, “The appointments are for the coming tour to Sri Lanka”.

Former captains Shahid Afridi and Shoaib Malik were in contention for captaining the T20 side but PCB Chairman Zaka Ashraf has indicated that they were looking at a long-term option.

He observed, “Misbah has rendered great service to Pakistan cricket but we felt it is time to appoint someone younger for T20 format. We have picked Hafeez keeping in mind the future but Misbah will continue to lead in Tests and ODIs. The appointments are for the coming tour to Sri Lanka”.

Mohammad Hafeez offered thanks to the board officials and Misbah for the appointment, saying that he will use all techniques learnt playing under different captains according to his abilities.

Chairman of the Selection Committee, Iqbal Qasim, commended Misbah’s performance, adding that the board will continue to consult him. In the meantime, he also welcomed Hafeez as the new T20 captain.

The Green-shirts will tour Sri Lanka from May 29 to play three tests, five ODIs and two Twenty20 games.

T20 squad: Khalid Latif, Ahmed Shehzad, Muhammad Hafeez (Captain), Shoaib Malik, Umar Akmal, Shakeel Ansar, Shahid Afridi, Yasir Arafat, Umer Gul, Sohaib Tanveer, Saeed Ajmal, Raza Hassan, Haris Sohail, Muhammad Sami, Hammad Azam and Nasir Jamshed.

ODI squad: Muhammad Hafeez, Nasir Jamshed, Younus Khan, Misbahul Haq (Captain), Umar Akmal, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Shahid Afridi, Umer Gul, Rahat Ali, Saeed Ajmal, Abdur Rahman, Muhammad Sami, Asad Shafiq, Ijaz Cheema, Azhar Ali and Imran Farhat.

Test squad: Muhammad Hafeez, Taufiq Umar, Azhar Ali, Misbahul Haq (Captain), Younus Khan, Asad Shafiq, Adnan Akmal, Umar Gul, Saeed Ajmal, Abdul Rahman, Muhammad Sami, Faisal Iqbal, Junaid Khan, Afaq Rahim, Muhammad Ayub Dogar and Ijaz Cheema.


  1. The culture in Pakistan doesn’t allow anyone to stay at the helm of anything, be it the country or the cricket. What we hope in Pakistan is the performance, hoping this culture accommodate the “good performance” sometime ..

  2. Excellent Decision by the PCB. Three different teams for three different format. Excellent. So many new faces. This is the only way to go about it. Just one thing which is upsetting me. How did Imran Farhat again made it to the ODI squad.

  3. He has a fiery temprement. Wont help him earn respect from other players. Cant see him lasting long.