Lewis Hamilton becomes the record-breaking 7th Grand Prix winner of the season.

Hamilton was victorious at the Gilles Villeneuve Circuit in Canada in a spectacular display of skilful driving and perfect strategy execution. It was clear from the very start of the season that tyre strategies are going to have a significant impact on race results and it was evident in Montreal the drivers with the right tyre strategies excelled while others failed.

The race started with Sebastian Vettel starting from the front and taking the lead earlier that should have been good enough for him to hold on to throughout the race, but tyre degradation and late realisation of knowing that a second stop was necessary led to him losing his lead and finally finishing 4th in the race.

Fernando Alonso who was being praised for his managing his tyres and using a single stop strategy to good use to lead the race was quickly criticised for his misjudgement that led to him losing his lead and finishing 5th in the race.

Romain Grosjean started the race from seventh and drove his way impressively to the top and finished second, his best finish in Formula 1.

Sergio Perez showed that the Malaysian Grand Prix second place finish was not a one off result and finished the race at 3rd.

Nico Rosberg had a promising start to his race but was aggressively challenged by Felipe Massa in the earlier stages of the race and then by Mark Webber, but he overcame those challenges to finish sixth.

Mark Webber winner of the Monaco Grand Prix finished his race at seventh place, followed by Kimi Raikkonen at 8th.

Perez performance can be put into perspective by looking at his team-mate Kamui Kobayashi 9th place finish. Massa finish at tenth but his race position does not do justice to the way he drove. Massa drove very well but his car spun during the race which moved him down to 14th. The Brazilian did well to move back into the top ten.

Michael Schumacher was again let down by his team as during the race his rear wing opened but never closed. The German made a pit stop and the team tried to close the wing manually but failed to do so and Schumacher ended up with another retirement in the season.

The complete result of the Canadian Grand Prix is listed below:

Position Driver Team
1 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes
2 Romain Grosjean Lotus-Renault
3 Sergio Perez Sauber-Ferrari
4 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull Racing-Renault
5 Fernando Alonso Ferrari
6 Nico Rosberg Mercedes
7 Mark Webber Red Bull Racing-Renault
8 Kimi Räikkönen Lotus-Renault
9 Kamui Kobayashi Sauber-Ferrari
10 Felipe Massa Ferrari
11 Paul di Resta Force India-Mercedes
12 Nico Hulkenberg Force India-Mercedes
13 Pastor Maldonado Williams-Renault
14 Daniel Ricciardo STR-Ferrari
15 Jean-Eric Vergne STR-Ferrari
16 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes
17 Bruno Senna Williams-Renault
18 Heikki Kovalainen Caterham-Renault
19 Vitaly Petrov Caterham-Renault
20 Charles Pic Marussia-Cosworth
Ret Timo Glock Marussia-Cosworth
Ret Michael Schumacher Mercedes
Ret Pedro de la Rosa HRT-Cosworth
Ret Narain Karthikeyan HRT-Cosworth