Julia Wilkinson and Charles Francis dominate swimming events – 2012 Canada Swimming Cup

Julia Wilkinson and Charles Francis dominated the playoffs of Women’s 100m backstroke and Men’s 100m backstroke respectively at the 2012 Canada Swimming Cup in Montreal.

Firstly, Wilkinson overpowered her opponents in the double lap backstroke discipline. With her laudable efforts, she enjoyed a commendable lead over her challengers and tapped the finishing end for gold medal with the timing of 1 minute and 00.49 seconds.

The champion stayed two body lengths ahead of Genevieve Cantin, who proved her mettle for silver medal of the discipline by submitting a time of 1 minute and 02.55 seconds.

The second position holder was chased by Hilary Caldwell, who remained 0.39 seconds apart and occupied bronze medal of the discipline by reporting an effort of 1 minute and 02.94 seconds.

The bronze medallist was chased by Vanessa Taillefer and Alyson Ackman, who involved each other in a neck-to-neck battle for fourth position.

The duo displayed their exhausting efforts but failed to surpass each other on the finishing end and reached the finishing wall with identical efforts of 1 minute and 05.45 seconds for fourth place.

Next was the equivalent event in Men’s corner, where Francis stifles hopes of his opponents.

He displayed his nerve-wrecking form in the 100m backstroke discipline and sprinted his way to the finishing blockade for gold medal with an effort of 56.58 seconds.

His gold winning effort remained just 0.02 seconds ahead of Matthew Swanston, who hit the finishing wall for silver medal by producing a time of 56.60 seconds.

The second position holder was chased by his team-member, Jeffrey Swanston, who stayed 0.29 seconds slower from him and transpired on the finishing end as third position holder with the timing of 56.89 seconds.

The third position holder was chased by Andrew Ford, who stayed full body length apart and settled on the finishing blockade as fourth position holder by completing his race in a time of 57.86 seconds.

Furthermore, the championship ended after the completion of all listed events in Men and Women’s corner.