Luke Peddie and Ashley McGregor dominate swimming events – Canadian Summer Nationals

Luke Peddie and Ashley McGregor won gold medals of the Men’s 50m freestyle and Women’s 200m breaststroke respectively at the 2012 Canadian Summer Nationals at the Edmonton Kinsmen Sport Centre.

Peddie stayed in a lead of half body length over his strongest challenger and touched the wall with the timing of 22.77 seconds.

His gold claiming effort remained 0.37 seconds ahead of Kelly Aspinall, who made his way to the podium for silver medal by clocking a time of 23.14 seconds.

The second position holder was followed by Alex Loginov, who remained 0.05 seconds behind and finished third in the event by producing a time of 23.19 seconds.

Similarly, Loginov was followed by Chris Manning, who was only 0.03 seconds slower from outsmarting the bronze medallist and settled on the finishing end as fourth finest swimmer by posting a time of 23.22 seconds.

The 20-year-old Manning was chased by Charlie Tapp, who remained 0.16 seconds apart and transpired on the finishing blockade as fifth fastest finisher by touching the wall with an effort of 23.38 seconds.

On the other hand, McGregor dominated the Women’s 200m discipline. With her invincible efforts, she managed to outperform her closest challenger over the finishing end for first position with a wonderful timing of 2 minutes and 27.24 seconds.

Her gold claiming effort remained 0.31 seconds ahead of Kierra Smith, who followed her on the victory stand for second position by clocking a fantastic effort of 2 minutes and 27.55 seconds.

The silver medallist was chased by Sarah-Lee Hevey, who stayed nearly four seconds apart and made her way to the finishing end for bronze medal by producing a nice time of 2 minutes and 31.33 seconds.

The third position holder was trailed by Mariya Chekanovych Aquatics, who remained 0.16 seconds slower and secured fourth position of the discipline by clocking a time of 2 minutes and 31.49 seconds.

Furthermore, the championship ended after the completion of all planned events while the position holders received awards and accolades at the medal ceremony of the tournament.