Jon Margeir Sverrisson and Jessica-Jane Applegate win gold medals – 2012 Paralympic Games

Jon Margeir Sverrisson and Jessica-Jane Applegate won gold medals of the Men and Women’s 200m freestyle in S14 class at the 2012 London Paralympic Games.

With his stupendous efforts in the freestyle event, Sverrisson remained slightly ahead of his closest challenger and tapped the finishing blockade for gold medal by posting a wonderful time of 1 minute and 59.62 seconds.

The champion was trailed by Daniel Fox, who stayed 0.17 seconds slower from his former finisher and occupied second position of the race by clocking a nice time of 1 minute and 59.79 seconds.

Fox was chased by Wonsang Cho, who stayed 0.14 seconds behind and completed the medal rostrum by claiming bronze medal of the race in a time of 1 minute and 59.93 seconds.

Cho was followed by Marc Evers, who remained nearly one body length slower from his preceding swimmer and hit the wall with a timing of 2 minutes and 00.76 seconds for fourth place.

Afterwards, the audience witnessed notable efforts of Applegate in the Women’s equivalent event. With her laudable pace, Applegate enjoyed a half body length lead over her strongest challenger and hit the wall with a timing of 2 minutes and 12.63 seconds.

The gold medallist was followed by Taylor Corry, who stayed 0.55 seconds apart and stepped on the victory stand for silver medal by submitting a time of 2 minutes and 13.18 seconds.

Corry was traced by Marlou van der Kulk, who remained 1.62 seconds away from her foregoing finisher and clocked a time of 2 minutes and 14.80 seconds.

The bronze medallist was chased by Kayla Clarke, who stayed 0.49 seconds apart and settled on the finishing end as fourth fastest swimmer by reporting a time of 2 minutes and 15.29 seconds.

Similarly, fifth finestspot of the event was secured by Pernilla Lindberg of Sweden, who remained 0.04 seconds slower from her former finisher and tapped the wall with an effort of 2 minutes and 15.33 seconds.

In addition, the position holders received medals for their notable efforts after the session.