David Tanner and Jack Bobridge to ride with Team Blanco Pro Cycling at the UCI Inaugural event

Team Blanco Pro Cycling, former known as Team Rabobank has short listed its top seven men for the UCI Inaugural event, the Santos Tour Down Under which include four Australians and three Dutch riders.

The new hires, David Tanner and Jack Bobridge will mark their debut with the Australian team at the coming event and will be accompanied by Graeme Brown and Mark Renshaw in the seven-man squad.

Inclusion of Bobridge in the Dutch squad took everyone by surprise as he left Shayne Bannan’s side, Team Orica-GreenEdge for the 2013 season.

The 23-year-old is an exceptional talent and his addition in Team Blanco Pro Cycling will certainly help the side in fulfilling its goals for the new season.

The former Australian road and Under 23 World time trial Champion could not really perform to his abilities in the current season but he is hopeful to find the right legs early on the new season as he sets sail for the Santos Tour Down Under.

Tour Down Under Race Director, Mike Turtur stated that Bobridge is a real crowd puller and his participation at the Australian event will be great for the race itself.

“Bobridge is a great young rider who made his WorldTour debut at the Santos Tour Down Under back in 2009 and is always popular with the crowds,” said Tour Down Under race director Mike Turtur.

“He’s had a good season with a silver medal in the team pursuit at the London Olympics and also won silver in the team and individual pursuits at the 2012 UCI Track World Championships,” he said.

Team Manager, Erik Dekker is satisfied with the selected team and is hopeful for a positive and a fresh start for the team.

“The 2013 Santos Tour Down Under will be a special race for the Blanco Cycling Team, it is going to be a fresh, new start. The first page of a beautiful story will be written,” said team manager Erik Dekker.

The full Blanco Procycling team for Tour Down Under include Jack Bobridge (Aus), Graeme Brown (Aus), Wilco Kelderman (Ned), Mark Renshaw (Aus), Tom-Jelte Slagter (Ned), David Tanner (AUS) and Maarten Tjallingii (Ned).