By virtue of his wonderful performance in the Big Bash League, Shaun March has earned place in the T20 squad against Sri Lanka, while David Hussey has completely failed to impress the selectors.

The Aussies are set to meet the islanders in two encounters on January 26 and 28. Several Australian players, who performed magnificently in the recent T20 league, are part of the national setup. And now with the inclusion of in-form Marsh, the side looks
even stronger.

Yet, the current line-up is massively different from the one that played the ICC T20 World Cup. There are now six new players in the team, and the selectors are therefore hoping for good results.

“Each of these six, Aaron Finch, Shaun Marsh, Adam Voges, Ben Cutting, James Faulkner and Ben Laughli has shown outstanding form in the T20 format over the past two months,” said John Inverarity, the chief selector.

“Their performances have been compelling and we anticipate they will take this momentum into the two fixtures scheduled for 26 and 28 January,” he added.

Marsh was absolutely brilliant with the bat in the T20 league. He finished the tournament with 412 runs, whereas Finch was declared as the ‘Player of the Tournament’.

On the other hand, Laughlin is full of spirit after taking the highest number of wickets in the league. He scalped 14 wickets in the championship, closed followed by Cutting with 13 wickets.

It was a close competition between Glenn Maxwell and Cameron White, but the latter failed to make it at the end. The chief selector added:

“We’ve just picked the best squad that we can. It was David Hussey or Glenn Maxwell and we’ve gone with Glenn Maxwell and some other younger players have performed better than Cameron White.”

“He’s batted brilliantly and we all know how well he can play when he’s in a good space and he seems to be in a very good space at the moment.”

Australia T20 squad: David Warner, Aaron Finch, Shaun Marsh, George Bailey (capt), Adam Voges, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Starc, Ben Cutting, James Faulkner, Ben Laughlin, Xavier Doherty.