After Election Commission’s warning to parties to hold own elections otherwise they would not be allowed to take part in polls, the PML-Q held party elections on Wednesday and elected Pervez Elahi as Punjab chief.


Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), Pakistan Muslim League-Q, and Pakistan Awami Party were among the political parties, which have not conducted the intra-party polls.


The Election Commission had asked 103 political parties to hold intra-party polls including PTI, PML-Q and PAT.


The Election Commission had also asked 61 political parties to submit assets’ declarations with the Election Commission.


The PML-Q carried out the process in Lahore and Deputy Prime Minister Pervez Elahi was elected unopposed as the president.


Chaudhry Zaheer was elected as the secretary general of the party.


Elahi, partner with the PPP in ruling coalition, served as the Punjab chief minister from 2002 to 2007, when Musharraf ruled the country. The PML-Q was formed after Musharraf dismissed elected govt of Nawaz Sharif in 1999.


In 1993, Elahi was elected Deputy Opposition Leader in Punjab assembly and also acted as Leader of the Opposition. He was elected unopposed Speaker of Punjab Assembly in 1997.


Elahi is now-a-days is critical at Pakistan Muslim League (PML-N), alleging that the party has spent most of Punjab’s funds in Lahore.



  1. Please Allot ot Pti Election Symbol, Beacuse This Pary Intra Election are end in mid of March, and other Parties Elections are Fake. Why Ecp not see Other Parties Like PML(N) PPP,and Others