Pakistan Muslim League (PML-N) member of the Parliamentary Committee, Senator Pervez Rashid, has claimed there is no deadlock over choosing a caretaker prime minister.


The eight-member parliamentary committee continues consultations on Thursday as the panel could not reach any consensus on the first day on Wednesday.


Pervez Rashid, the PML-N member of the committee, said on Thursday that the committee is gradually moving toward a consensus.


Talking to the media prior to the second day meeting of the committee in Islamabad‚ he said positive results are emerging from the meeting and things are moving logically in accordance with the Constitution.


He dispelled the impression that any new names would be added to the nominee list.


Asked whether politicians have failed to address the issue‚ he said politicians created this country‚ gave it a constitution and free elections are being conducted due to the sagacity of politicians.


However‚ he said it was the dictatorial regimes which failed to address the national issues and plunged the country into crisis.


The committee comprising 4 members each from the government and the opposition has decided to nominate caretaker prime minister with two-third majority.


The government has nominated Dr. Ishrat Husain and Justice (Retd) Mir Hazar Khan Khoso‚ while the PML-N has nominated the names of Justice (Retd) Nasir Aslam Zahid and Rasool Bux Palijo for the post of caretaker prime minister.


If the committee fails in picking the caretaker prime minster‚ the matter would be decided by the Election Commission of Pakistan.


Chaudhry Shujaat Hussain‚ Khursheed Shah‚ Ghullam Ahmed Bilour and Farooq Naek‚ are representing the government while Parvez Rasheed‚ Sardar Mehtab Abbasi‚ Khwaja Saad Rafique and Sardar Yaqoob are representing the opposition in the committee.


Another PML-N member, Khwaja Saad Rafiq, said there is no room for inclusion of a new name in the list already agreed upon.