The Pakistan Muslim League and the opposition parties in Punjab Tuesday failed to reach consensus on the name of the caretaker Chief Minister, leaders of the two sides said.


The matter has now been referred to the Election Commission, the PML-N leader, Rana Sanaullah and the PML-Q leader, Chaudhry Zaheer-ud-Din told reporters outside the assembly’s building.


Both said that both sides will accept decision by the election commission.


“We have unanimously agreed to refer the four proposed names to the Election Commission,” they said.


The said the constitutional provisions allow the parties to send the matter if they did not agree on a name.


The parliamentary committee had three days to take decision.


Three other provinces had agreed to reach consensus on the caretaker CM but political bitterness in Punjab frustrated such move.


Rana Sanaullah said that referring the matter to the election commission should not be considered as the failure of the politicians.


The six-member parliamentary committee was comprised Rana Sanaullah, Mujtaba Shuja-ur-Rahman and Iqbal Chanar from the PML-N, while from the opposition Shaukat Basra, Chaudhry Zaheer and Zulfiquar Gondal.


Rana Sanaullah had earlier said the opposition raised unsubstantial objections over the names proposed by PML-N, adding that the PML-N believes all four nominees for the post of caretaker Chief Minister Punjab are respectable individuals.


The PML-N has proposed the names of Justice (retd) Amir Raza Khan and former bureaucrat Khuwaja Zaheer while the opposition suggested names of Najam Sethi, senior journalist and political commentator, and Justice (retd) Zahid Hussain.