The National Assembly will elect Leader of the House later on Wednesday.

Three candidates including PML-N’s Mian Muhammad Nawaz Sharif‚ PPPP’s Makhdoom Amin Fahim and PTI’s Makhdoom Javed Hashmi are in the run for the top slot.

Their nomination papers have already been accepted.

Election of Leader of the House will be held through division of the house.

The oath taking ceremony of the Prime Minister will be held at Aiwan-e-Sadr in Islamabad this afternoon.

PML-N Chief Mian Nawaz Sharif‚ whose party enjoys clear majority in the National Assembly‚ is set to make history by becoming third time Prime Minister of the country.

PPP leader Amin Fahim says the party has fielded its candidate to dispel the impression of a friendly opposition. 

The JUI-F, MQM, Jamaat-e-Islami and Qaumi Wattan Party of Aftab Sherpao have decided to vote for Nawaz Sharif.


JUI-F Chief Maulana Fazlur Rehman said a delegation of PML-N had requested his party to vote for Nawaz Sharif in the election for the slot of the Prime Minister.


QWP-S Chief Aftab Ahmad Khan Sherpao announced support after a meeting with PML-N leaders Ishaq Dar and Chaudhary Nisar Ali Khan in Islamabad on Tuesday afternoon.


And PML-Zia has announced to unconditionally support Mian Nawaz Sharif in the election of prime minister and Mian Shahbaz Sharif for the Punjab chief minister.