The newly elected Prime Minister‚ Muhammad Nawaz Sharif took oath of his office at a simple but dignified ceremony at President Wednesday evening.


President Asif Ali Zardari administered oath to the new Prime Minister.


Later‚ Prime Minister Mian Muhammad Nawaz Sharif was presented Guard of Honour at his arrival at the Prime Minister House in Islamabad.


A smartly turned out contingent of the Armed Forces presented Guard of Honour to him.


The Prime Minister inspected the Guard of Honour. National anthem was also played on this occasion.


The Prime Minister was also introduced with the staff of the Prime Minister House.


Earlier‚ the National Assembly elected Pakistan Muslim League (PML-N) chief Nawaz Sharif as the Prime Minister by the two third majority.


He got 244 votes while his opponents Makhdoom Amin Fahim of Pakistan Peoples Party Parliamentarians bagged 42 votes and Makhdoom Javed Hashmi of Pakistan Tehrik-e-Insaf secured 31 votes.


It is the first time in the history of the country that Nawaz Sharif has been elected for the slot of Prime Minister for the third time.


Chairman Joint Chiefs of Staff Committee General Khalid Shameem Wynne and Army Chief General Ashfaq Pervez Kiyani called on the Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif in Islamabad on Wednesday evening and congratulated him on the assumption of the office of the Prime Minister.


Army Chief General Ashfaq Pervez Kiyani also congratulated the nation on peaceful and democratic transition of power.


Among others who attended the swearing in ceremony included outgoing caretaker Prime Minister Mir Hazar Khan Khoso‚ former President Rafiq Tarar‚ former Prime Ministers Raja Pervez Ashraf‚ Syed Yusuf Raza Gilani‚ former Speaker National Assembly Dr Fehmida Mirza‚ Chairman Senate Syed Nayyar Hussain Bukhari‚ members of the former cabinet‚ members of the parliament‚ services chiefs‚ politicians‚ diplomats and high officials.