Justice Mehmood Maqbool Bajwa of the Lahore High Court (LHC) has dismissed the petition  challenging the decision of an additional session judge to register First Information Report (FIR) against Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif, Chief Minister Punjab Shahbaz Sharif, and 19 others on Tuesday August 26, 2014.

Four federal ministers Khawaja Asif, Pervaiz Rasheed, Saad Rafique and Abid Sher Ali had challenged a ruling of an additional session judge who have ordered registering FIR on request of Pakistan Awami Tehreek (PAT) against 21 persons including PM, CM, provincial and federal ministers and police officers.

Justice Mehmood Maqbool Bajwa, after studying the joint investigation team’s report on the Model Town incident, upheld the decision to register FIR.

At least 14 people including women died in Model Town as a result of firing by police outside the Minahajul Quran Secretariat and residence of Dr Tahirul Qadri in June this year.