Sven Nys continuous his tremendous form to bag an important victory at the UCI Cyclo-cross World Cup Round 6.


The Belgian is having a tremendous season as he made full use of his winning momentum during the Wednesday event.


He managed to restrict his major competitors winning the race in Zolder after more a break of more than a decade.


Kevin Pauwels and Lars Boom made it impossible for Nys to win at the former Formula 1 car circuit in the past few years, but this year it was different as he looked in total control during a rainy afternoon in Zolder.


The 36-year-old took a total time of 1 hour, 5 minutes and 15 seconds and occupied the top podium position with Niels Albert of Team BKCP-Powerplus finishing 16 seconds behind at the second position.


Zdenek Stybar of Team Omega Pharma-Quickstep had to settle for the third position after he finished 33 seconds behind the race leader.


Radomir Simunek of Team BKCP-Powerplus, Kevin Pauwels of Team Sunweb-Revor, Rob Peeters of Team Telenet-Fidea, Lars Van Der Haar  of Team Rabobank, Tom Meeusen of Team Telenet-Fidea, Bart Aernouts of Team AA Drink and Marcel Meisen of Team BKCP-Powerplus achieved the next seven positions in the respective order.


Nys was delighted after claiming the top podium position, “Winning here hasn’t always been evident for me. I tried it many times but always missed out. Today it worked out,” Nys told Sporza after crossing the finish-line.


“I knew what I did. With the rain, it was getting harder every lap, but I had a good feeling. I tried to get the gap on the downhill. That technical zone was in the last part of the track. For me, it’s better like this; otherwise it’s a sprint. Normally, I can win a sprint against Niels but you never know. It’s better to have a gap before the sprint”.


Sven Nys of Team Landbouwkrediet-Euphony leads the Elite men World Cup standings after six rounds with a total number of 415 points to his credit.


Niels Albert holds the same amount of points at the second position with Kevin Pauwels, Klaas Vantornout and Lars Van Der Haar achieving the third, fourth and fifth positions in the respective order with 389, 301 and 291 points respectively.