Renowned columnist and the PML-N candidate in Chakwal, Ayaz Amir, was allowed to contest National Assembly election as an election tribunal cancelled an earlier decision by Returning Officer.


The Returning Officer had rejected Ayaz Amir’s papers over his controversial columns about the Ideology of Pakistan.


An election tribunal bench in Rawalpindi overturned the decision of the election commission’s Returning Officer rejecting the nomination papers filed by


Salman Akram Raja, defence lawyer for Ayaz Amir, welcomed the decision and said the ruling would bring to an end the mudslinging campaign against the candidates.


Meanwhile, the Multan High Court also dismissed the verdict against Faisal Saleh Hayat of Pakistan Muslim League (PML-Q) and ruled that he can stand for the National Assembly’s seat.


Nomination papers of Hayat, who will contest from his hometown constituency NA-88 in Jhang, which were earlier rejected over allegations of electricity and irrigation water theft.


Former President Pervez Musharraf has also filed for appeal against the decision of the ECP’s RO to reject his nomination papers filed for the NA-250 seat in Karachi.


The ROs in Karachi, Islamabad and Kasur had rejected Gen Musharraf’s papers on the basis of articles 62 and 63 of the constitution for his act of imposing emergency in the country in November 2007 in violation of the constitution and for keeping judges of the superior judiciary under unlawful detention.


Musharraf was also accused of not disclosing his source of income in his nomination papers whereas he has declared assets worth more than Rs760 million.


His papers had also been challenged by the candidates of various parties, including the PML-N, Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf and Jamaat-i-Islami.


The RO in Chitral has accepted Musharraf’s nomination papers.


Pakistan Peoples Party’s  (PPP) leader Senator Farroq H. Naek filed an appeal with the election tribunal bench in Rawalpindi against the rejection of former prime minister Raja Pervez Ashraf’s nomination papers from NA-51 constituency.


Returning Officer Khalid Arshad had rejected the nomination papers of former prime minister Raja Pervez Ashraf after Raj Irfan Aziz, a relative of Raja Jawaid Ikhlas, had complained that Pervez Ashraf had been misusing his discretionary funds in his constituency which amounted to pre-poll rigging and showed his partisan approach and corrupt practices.