Digital Publishers Association of Pakistan has announced Shahab Zuberi as their new president after he was elected during the DPAP’s Annual General Meeting held in Karachi.

Mr. Lucas Peter was selected as vice president; Mr. Monis Rahman as Secretary General; Mr. Imran Ansari as Joint Secretary; and Mr. Faisal Jaffri as Secretary Finance.

The DPAP was formed last year by a collaboration of conventional media groups and digital media entities. The aim of the association is to protect the rights of all the parties involved in Pakistan’s rapidly emerging and evolving digital media market.

At the time of its formation, the blogging community of the country raised concerns over the attempt of big media groups to spread their influence on the online market. The founders of the association include people from media groups like Dawn, Jang, Express and SAMAA, along with and the Business Recorder Group.