Mamnoon Hussain elected Pakistan’s new President

Tuesday, July 30th, 2013 4:08:50 by

Syed Mamnoon Hussain was elected new President of Pakistan on Tuesday with a big margin of votes in the national parliament and provincial assemblies, election officials said.

Hussain, 73, was fielded by the ruling Pakistan Muslim League (PML-N) of Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif. He will be the country’s 12th President.

Members of national parliament and provincial assemblies in Pakistan voted to elect the successor of President Asif Ali Zardari, whose tenure will end on September 8.

According to unofficial results‚ Mamnoon Hussain secured 277 votes and Wajihuddin bagged 34 votes in the National Assembly and the Senate.

According to unofficial results‚ Mamnoon Hussain of PML-N secured 64 votes whereas retired Justice Wajihuddin Ahmad got five votes in Sindh Assembly.

In Balochistan Assembly‚ Mamnoon Hussain got 55 votes and Wajihuddin secured only one vote.

In Khyber-Pukhtunkhwa Assembly‚ the opposition candidate Wajihuddin secured 69 votes whereas Mamnoon Hussain bagged 41 votes.

Counting in Punjab assembly is underway, where the PML-N has a clear support of the members.

It was one- to- one contest as the major opposition Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) had boycotted the elections over the change in the original date of polling. The PPP’s three allies had also boycotted the elections but the boycott did not have much effect on the voting.

Polling opened at 10:00 a.m. in the joint session of the National Assembly and Senate in the capital Islamabad and four provincial assemblies and continued until 3:00 p.m., without any break.


Tags: , , , , ,

Short URL:

Posted by on Jul 30 2013. Filed under Latest News, National, Pakistan, Politics. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login


Photo Gallery

Unique Auction UAE
Log in