Posts tagged as: Election Commission of Pakistan

Major parties candidates submit papers for presidential elections

Candidates for election to the office of the President Wednesday submitted nomination papers that marks formal begging the process for the presidential elections. The elections were previously scheduled to be held on August 6, however, the Supreme Court on Wednesday ordered the Election Commission of Pakistan to hold polls on July 30. The ruling Pakistan […]

ECP asks gov’t to summon parliament session on Aug: 6

The Election Commission of Pakistan Tuesday asked the government to summon the parliament session on August 6 for the presidential elections. The Commission also issued instructions to the parliamentarians to cast their votes in the presidential election. A spokesman of the Election Commission said that the election will be held through secret ballot. He instructed […]

JUI-(F), ANP reach alliance for by-polls

Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam (JUI-F) and Awami National Party (ANP) Friday announced that they have reached an alliance for the next moth by-elections.  JUI-F will support the candidates of ANP in NA-1,5 & PK-23 while ANP will support JUI-F candidates on the remaining seats in the province. By-elections will be held on five National Assembly and four […]

Presidential elections proposed on August 6

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has suggested August 6 for the presidential elections, the ECP officials said on Tuesday. The five-year constitutional term Zaradri, who was elected president in September 2008, will complete on September 8 this year.  Elections for the President must be held one month before the expiry of the term of […]

Khoso vacates PM house for new leader

Caretaker Prime Minister, Mir Hazar Khan Khoso, vacated the Prime Minister House, for a new leader just a day before the election of the Leader of the House in the National Assembly. The National Assembly will elect new premier on Wednesday and he will be sworn in the evening. Khoso was appointed as the caretaker […]

MQM call for NA-250 re-polling rejected

The Election Commission Friday rejected MQM’s request for re-polling in the entire NA-250 Karachi constituency.   The Commission while hearing the request in Islamabad said that re-polling will be held only in 43 polling stations.   The MQM had opposed the ECP move and also staged sit-in in Karachi for several days.   Meanwhile‚ Chairman […]

PTI wins Chaudhry Nisar’s PA seat in recounting

Pakistan Muslim League (PML-N) candidate Chaudhry Nisar Ali khan Thursday lost provincial assembly seat to Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s (PTI) candidate Muhammad Siddique Khan in votes recounting.   The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) had ordered recounting after PTI had demanded recounting.   Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan won a seat in the National Assembly from the NA-52 […]

Imran Khan says will jointly resolve major issues with PML-N

Chairman Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf Imran Khan says his party believes in democracy and will play the role of a strong opposition in the National Assembly.   In a video message in Lahore on Wednesday‚ he said despite political differences with PML [N]‚ we will jointly move forward to resolve the major issues being faced by the […]

PML-N secures 123 in declared 254 NA seats

Election Commission of Pakistan has announced unofficial results of 254 National Assembly seats with Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz leading with 123 seats followed by Pakistan Peoples Party Parliamentarian with 31 seats.   Pakistan Tehrik-e-Insaf has secured 26‚ Muttahida Qaumi Movement 18‚ JUI-F 10‚ Pakistan Muslim League Functional 4‚ Jamat-e-Islami 3‚ Pakistan Muslim League-Q two, Pakhtunkhwa […]

PPPP accepts election results despite serious reservations

The Pakistan Peoples Party Parliamentarians has accepted the verdict of the people as expressed by them through the May 11 vote, the President of the PPP Makhdoom Amin Fahim said.   Although the Party has serious reservations about the fairness of the polls it has accepted the results in the larger interest of political stability, […]

Overseas Pakistanis allowed to vote

President Asif Ali Zardari Thursday approved and signed the ‘Electoral Laws (Amendment) Ordinance‚ 2013 to facilitate the overseas Pakistanis to cast their vote from abroad.   Giving details of the ordinance‚ Spokesperson to the President Senator Farhatullah Babar said that ordinance provides that the Election Commission of Pakistan at least 14 days before the day […]

Election Commission launches voters’ e-ticket service

The Election Commission of Pakistan on Monday introduced E-Ticket Service having serial number and block code of the voters.   The service was launched at the Election Commission office in Islamabad.   On this occasion‚ Member ECP Punjab‚ Justice (R) Riaz Kayani said earlier all these details were provided by the political parties‚ but after […]


Photo Gallery

Unique Auction UAE
Log in