PTI’s Iftikhar Jhagra, PML-Q’s Nighat Orakzai join Pakistan People’s Party

Wednesday, December 5th, 2012 3:08:24 by

In a surprise move, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s Ifthikar Khan Jhagra and Pakistan Muslim League Q’s Nighat Orakzai publicly announced that they would be leaving behind their political parties and joining the ruling Pakistan People’s Party unconditionally.


Mr. Jhagra was a well known figure of the PPP before making a move to the PTI during the peak movement, which has now died down considerably after big names that joined it are not losing hope in its ability to bring about the ‘change’ the people had miraculously hoped to come around.


He joined the PTI in 2011 after having served with the PPP as a provincial minister three times in the past, but met PPP MNA Faryal Talpur in recent days to announce his comeback to the nation’s biggest political party due to what he claims to be his respect for its leadership.


Ms. Nighat Orakzai of the PML-Q, who is also an MPA of the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa provincial assembly, has also made the announcement to join the PPP after blaming the Muslim League leadership of being incapable of handling party matters in a competent manner. She is still a member of the provincial assembly, but may quit if the party files a reference against her.


“I am ready to quit my assembly seat if the PML-Q filed a reference against me,” she announced and added that she took the decision after much thinking because the provincial leadership always kept her in the dark about party (PML-Q) issues, according to


Both politicians praised the Pakistan People’s Party for handling the numerous challenges that the country faced when coming into power in 2008 and always being the voice of the people during dictatorship regimes. They also went on to add that the Pakistan People’s Party will win a majority in the next election, and for this, they have planned on launching an aggressive election campaign to reach out to the people, which the PPP has been known to do at a grass root level.


(Click on the link to keep up with the writer’s latest updates on Facebook)

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Short URL:

Posted by on Dec 5 2012. Filed under Editorial, Latest News. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

3 Comments for “PTI’s Iftikhar Jhagra, PML-Q’s Nighat Orakzai join Pakistan People’s Party”

  1. Shahid

    Laga hai corruption ka bazaar dekho Is mei Loton ka aana jana dekho.

    Author should know why these lota politicians are leaving PTI. Just because of Internal Elections which they cant face or are not in a habit of facing these. Please Mr. Author analyse the situation honestly and tell people the truth And Truth is that PTI is the only democratic party in Pakistan and it does not suit to these lotas. If there was no internal election in PTI and PTI could promise to give these lotas party tickets then no one would have left it. It is a party od change and InshaAllah if Pakitsn has to go on the path of Development then no other than PTI can take this Pakistan to its destination. We all must support and bring PTI into power otherwise Pakistan;s existence is in danger.

  2. Syed Hassan Bokhari

    And the irony is that when all these politicians, which you now term to be “Lotas”, were joining the Tehreek-i-Insaaf, was regarded as a revolution of all the clean people joining the Tsunami, which now just seems to have died down significantly.

    Pakistan’s only solution is that the democratic process continue, without discriminating which party comes into power. The choice of the people should prevail and they should choose the best of the crop on personality and capability and not just on the basis of party affiliation.

  3. syedhussain

    pti is the only party which is not private ltd like the other parties are especially anp,pmln or q
    and peoples party.
    just look the sugar mills owned by these so called
    commercial business politician.
    we need to confiscate all the mills of these commercial leaders which were established during
    their tenure.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login


Photo Gallery

Unique Auction UAE
Log in