Pakistan’s Shakil Abbasi declared Player of the Tournament at Champions Trophy

Monday, December 10th, 2012 10:51:26 by

In what appeared to be an unexpected upshot, Pakistan’s centre-forward Shakil Abbasi was declared the Player of the Tournament at the 34th Champions Trophy played from 1-9 December at the State Netball Hockey Centre in Melbourne, Australia.


Australia, the host team won the tournament while the Greenshirts earned bronze medal after defeating India in the 3rd place game.


The media persons covering the event voted heavily in favour of Abbasi for his dazzling performance on the green artificial turf at the State Netball Hockey Centre.  In the meantime, Holland’s goalkeeper Jaap Stockmann was declared the best goalkeeper of the tournament.


Pakistan’s star player scored three vital goals for the team. His two goals against Germany in the crucial quarter final match, led the team qualify for the semi final long after eight years. Though, he did not score any goal against India on Sunday for the third place play-off, but helped others to launch a full-fledged against the opponents.


Nicholas Wilson (New Zealand) turned out to be the top scorer of the tournament. The Fair Play award went to the Netherlands. Fuerste player of the year: Germany’s Moritz Fuerste was named the FIH Men’s Player of Year in Melbourne late on Saturday. It was a double German delight as Fuerste’s Olympic teammate


Florian Fuchs was named the FIH Young Player of the Year (U21). Fuerste beat out an impressive field of finalists that included Australian Jamie Dwyer, the Netherlands’ Robert van der Horst, India’s Sardar Singh and Fuerste’s teammate Tobias Hauke.


The Young Player of the Year finalists were Simon Gougnard (BEL), Harry Martin (ENG), Gonzalo Peillat (ARG) and Muhammad Rizwan Junior (PAK).


Fuerste was also a nominee in 2011 and 2010. It is the first time since 2002 that a German has won the award. Fuerste was the captain of the German team that won the gold medal at the 2012 London Olympic Games. He was also a member of the teams that won gold at the 2008 Olympic Games in Beijing; the 2006 World Cup in Mönchengladbach; and the 2011 and 2007 Indoor World Cups.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Short URL:

Posted by on Dec 10 2012. Filed under Pakistan, Sports. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login


Photo Gallery

Unique Auction UAE
Log in